Ideas

Since I didn’t want to create something beautiful or fantastic with images or animations, Kate helped me with some ideas about text-based games.

  • words puzzle game: player type words base on the hints of the game.
  • words RPG: player experiences world with just texts or dialogues, sounds not images.  Eat Cow To Live
    QQ截图20170501204111
    Small game but has parameters, background story and choices/results.

    BUT, like one review of this game said ‘ there’s simply nothing of substance in here’ I wouldn’t say this is not fun but I really don’t want my game just SUBSTANCE: you play 5 or 10 times, you know which path you should go.

  • Map game: Melbourne 1945  This is not a game but something interesting.

Those reminded me one of the game in my phone: Sorcery! A lot of parts of this series of games are words.  Some of the parts are fighting and adventure. Even in the fighting, words are important.

s4_2.png

Another one is word cookies which I played for learning English:

unnamed.png

Other references to the text game:

30 BEST TEXT-ADVENTURES/INTERACTIVE-FICTION GAMES OVER 5 DECADES

 

Sum up some key rules of my game:

text-based

include random elements make the game replayable

limited session/game length: control by time/round/other resources
Leave a Reply

